//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Oh Dark Thirty

There are just not enough hours in the day, especially for those of us who are preparing for very hard times, even collapse.  For me, a homeschoolin’ mama of three boys, waking up at 5 a.m. is critical because my day is full of distractions.  I cannot commit to any task that is more than a few minutes long  because it is guaranteed that one or more of my boys will come tearing around the corner with a need or want.  Y’all with young children know exactly what I’m talking about.

I imagine that most of y’all have full-time jobs and families that need your attention so you need to figure out how to get some time to focus on preparing yourself physically, mentally and spiritually for the upcoming train wreck.

If you finding yourself stuck in limbo in regard to prepping, I highly recommend that you learn to get up before everyone else in your family.  Yeah, for many of you it will be hard but if you cannot find any other time to be by yourself then discipline yourself to do it.  Besides, it’s better for your health to rise early and got to sleep early.  Here is a great article from Dr. Mercola about the benefits of getting enough sleep including why going to sleep before 10 p.m. is good for your body: http://preview.tinyurl.com/297fsme.

I find that it is easier to rise early when I have a clear purpose or goal to accomplish.  There are a million things that preppers need to do (and it never ends – learn to accept it — you are NEVER done prepping).  I recommend getting you goals on paper even if at first it is just a brainstormin’ hodge podge of random goals.  Next, prioritize them.  Once they are prioritized, take each goal and write down all of the steps that you need to do to accomplish it.  Get a notebook or a binder because there are going to be a lot of steps and you will continue to add to your list.

So, when that alarm goes off (I prefer a radio alarm), you can get up with goals and steps to accomplish.  How do you eat an elephant?  One bite at a time.  Don’t be surprised if reaching your goals is agonizingly slow sometimes.  Keep putting one foot in front of the other.

Some goals are easy.  You order the Big Berkey water filter and it arrives in the mail a week later. Skill-building goals tend to be the hardest to accomplish.  Learning how to garden SUCKS!  Growing your own food is not only hard work but there are so many methods of gardening – it is overwhelming for a newbie.  You are constantly fighting forces in nature: pests, diseases, weeds, poor soil, etc.  Don’t think that having a survival “garden in a can” (a bunch of heirloom seeds) is enough.  You need to gain gardening skills now when failure is just an annoyance.  If you don’t have land to start gardening with then I recommend two things: learn how to forage wild edibles (and start acquiring a taste for them now) and join a CSA (community supported agriculture) program (find one by punching your zip code into the box at http://www.localharvest.org/csa/).  Volunteer to work on the farm occasionally to gain some skills.

Lastly, I recommend spending 15 – 30 minutes in prayer.  I need this time to connect deeply with my Creator, to hand over my worries to Him and to ask for divine wisdom and protection.

So, get a notebook, set your alarm, and get to preppin’!

Cross-posted at: http://dont-tread-on.me/oh-dark-thirty/

About crunchyconmama

Happy to be a follower of Christ, wife to a great man, and mama to 3 beautiful boys.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Oh Dark Thirty

  1. I am a first time reader. I find your comments encouraging … my husband and I are also very early risers and sometimes having a cuppa coffee at 4 AM is the only quiet time we have to talk — i.e. make our To Do list for the day (or just sit quietly for a few minutes). Another idea to learn to garden is by taking a Master Gardener course at a local university extension office. In my case, living in the NV desert, everything I plant eventually burns to death, no matter what precautions I take. Next, I am going to try something I saw on youtube called Global Buckets — a well done video made by a couple of teenage boys with a good cause. Thank you … GBG

    Posted by Ginareporter | October 16, 2011, 3:44 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Odds 'n Sods: - SurvivalBlog.com - October 18, 2011

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

